Posted by: pjakubo86 | April 4, 2007

Back from the mountains (part 2)

In part 2, I’ll talk about what happened after the awesome hike through the “Grand Canyon.” I call it the “Dark Days.”

So after we got back from the hike, we had a pot roast dinner which was probably the best meal we had at the camp.  However, immediately after this meal, something so frightening, so odorous, so consistent as to shock, frighten, and horrify everyone around me set it.  Farts.  Bad ones.  And smelly ones…really smell ones.  As Mat Major explained, I “lit it up” all night long and consistently about every 10 minutes.

As I fouled up the camp, we continued with activities including a trivia night which our team nearly won (and would have if we had been smarter about some of our answers – or won a physical challenge).  We did come in second though and were able to pick some nifty gifts.  I got a hat (yay!).   I went to bed with the farting still a problem.

The next morning we headed out to do some sightseeing of the Three Sisters and the surrounding area.  It was absolutely the most incredible sight I had ever seen.  My fear of heights really set in at many points.  We were actually able to walk out onto the first of the three sisters by going down a staircase carved by prisoners right into the cliffside.  Yikes.  I’ll let the pictures do the rest of the talking:

img_2812.jpg img_2820.jpg img_2829.jpg img_2827.jpg

It was really cool.  We got to go on this old coal mining railway at Scenic World with an incline of 52 degrees – the steepest in the world.  From there we walked through a little exhibit and saw some cool wildlife.  We then took a cable car back up the cliffside to back and got some incredible views.  I couldn’t believe it.

If you’d like an awesome 3D view of this place, check this out: http://maps.live.com/default.aspx?v=2&cp=-33.743238~150.306917&style=h&lvl=19&tilt=-20.3953605235513&dir=202.436039429747&alt=1191.74941547774&sp=Point.9c9p60xhsnw5_The%20Three%20Sisters_I%20walked%20out%20on%20the%20first%20one%20of%20these%21__http%3a%2f%2fpatinaustralia.files.wordpress.com%2f2007%2f04%2fimg%255f2812.jpg~Point.9cb1hpxhsdrh_Echo%20Point%20Lookout___~Point.9cbpcwxhrkg9_Scenic%20World_This%20is%20where%20the%20railway%20and%20cable%20car%20were_

And here is a little video compilation of my trip:

On the bus back, diarrhea set in.  I won’t go into that, but it finally cleared up this morning.

Responses

  1. Wow, I’m so jealous. Australia looks so damn beautiful. I clearly need to do more traveling, wait…

    Current Bank Account Balance: $76.89


Leave a Reply

Categories

