Posted by: pjakubo86 | March 25, 2007

A Manly day

Well, yesterday we finally went down to Manly Beach, which is one of the northern beaches in Sydney.  We had to take a ferry up there, which wasreally cool.  The guy who sat across from us told us about all the landmarks as we went by and was really helpful.  I get that impression about a lot of the people here.  Once we got there, we hit the beach hard.  It reminded me a lot of Bondi Beach, except it is quite a bit longer and it was much less crowded.  We got to rugbeaching pretty quickly after we set up our stuff and had a good time in the water.  However, the tides were bringing in tons of bluebottles, which we had to avoid.  Jack actually got stung by one and was in quite a bit of pain for about half an hour or an hour. 

Afterwards, we played some 3-on-2 and later, 3-on-3 volleyball on the beach, which got sand everywhere on me.  I got a chance to lay out for a good time as well, and I’m pretty happy with my tan.  I’m sure it will be gone by the end of the week though.  We then headed up to this smaller beach called Shelly Beach which is so-called because of the rough, shelly sand at the beach.  It was certainly scenic, but I think I preferred the main beaches better.

 Once we had had our fill of sun and surf, we headed over for dinner at this outdoor cafe.  I had a nice, but not spectacular, chicken fettuccine.  We got some ice cream and then headed onto the ferry for the trip back.  All in all, it was a nice day and I was happy for it.  I’d really like to go back!

Responses

  1. Sounds like a “SPRING BREAK” sort of paradise. I don’t believe I’ve seen the sun in 2 days. Stupid rainy cold Champaign. I need to move somewhere…


Leave a Reply

Categories

